Retrospective post: Revamping our 404 page

When I started at Carleton back in 2013, one of the first things I did was make a more friendly 404 page. The “page not found” message at the time looked like this:

Unfriendly 404 page

Not very helpful, and it didn’t even have our footer menus included. So, I added what I thought were useful options if you happen to hit a 404 page – search, index, help pages, feedback to tell us we messed up and deleted something important. Plus a fabulous image created by my fabulous colleague Kevin Bowrin. Since I was new to Carleton, I didn’t get the whole raven thing (Carleton sports teams are the Ravens) and dubbed this lovely guy the “Oh no crow”:

Friendly 404 page with links that might help

Less than two weeks into the job and I knew I was going to love working here.

Leave a Reply

